Where, when, what?

The stressful time started: it is application period. Even if you can’t apply for the state unis yet, I had to handle a first rejection. I was applying for a private uni near Dortmund. The Universität Witten/Herdecke is a uni teaching to Humboldt’s principles. Unfortunately they only have 30 places and a lot more applicants thus I wasn’t invited to the selection days. But luckily there are other opportunities. My mother found out that I could even study in the Netherlands in english. Unfortunately living in the Netherlands wouldn’t be possible, because it would be very difficult to get a visa for the Australian, but the Radboud Universiteit Nijmegen is near the german border and would be an alternitive. Even if there would be no bigger city in the nearer distance we could find a way.

My favourite still would be special needs education (sne) in Munich, but I can understand that the Australian wants to go to Berlin. His best friend from Australia will stay until February next year and he could definitely get a job there, because the speciality coffee scene is big there. I will apply for sne in both cities, even if I would prefer psychology at the International Psychoanalytic University Berlin. Unfortunately this uni is very expensive – it would be 820 Euro per month – but my mother said, that she would probably pay it for me. I don’t really want her to pay so much money for my studys, but the uni in the Netherlands would cost, too. It would be less than the half of Berlin, but, as I said before, I can understand that the Australian would prefer Berlin. In this situation I find myself in a conflict of wishes.

We agreed on applying for all possibilities and decide together with my parents and the Australian in the summer. We’ll see where I’ll end up. It definitely won’t get boring here. Challenges over challenges.

Leave a Reply

